Home / alt.fashion / Thursday, December 15, 2005

Handbag retailer question

Alice <freshmoroc...@gmailNOSPAM.com>
A red Marc Jacobs bag I'd been lusting after for about a year got
marked down and sold out right from under my nose. I had asked to
look at the bag exactly 2 weeks ago and almost caved in and bought it
at full price. Alas, I should have, because it was marked down 40%
just a few days later and I could've gotten a price adjustment!!!
Unfortunately, there are no more of them available at Nordstrom
anywhere in the country. :(
However, I did find a website that claimed to have completely
authentic designer handbags, which has the bag I want in stock. I
just would like to know whether anyone has had any experience with the
retailer. It seems legit, but I am wary because it's not a familiar
name to me.
I searched on MUA and tried to do a google groups search to see if it
had been discussed on alt.fashion before, but couldn't turn up any
helpful information. So if anyone could help me out here, I'd be very
grateful. The website is http://www.elementofstyle.com and I am in no
way affiliated with it – I just want to try to avoid getting scammed,
if their prices and selection are really too good to be true.
Alice
Alice <freshmoroc...@gmailNOSPAM.com>
It doesn't seem like anyone had comments either good or bad about this
website, so because I wanted the bag so badly I decided to take a
gamble and place an order. I'll let you guys know how it works out.
I'm keeping my fingers crossed that they really do have authentic
past–season Marc Jacobs bags at discount prices...
Alice
On Thu, 15 Dec 2005 02:40:38 –0800, Alice
<freshmoroc...@gmailNOSPAM.com> wrote:
A red Marc Jacobs bag I'd been lusting after for about a year got
marked down and sold out right from under my nose. I had asked to
look at the bag exactly 2 weeks ago and almost caved in and bought it
at full price. Alas, I should have, because it was marked down 40%
just a few days later and I could've gotten a price adjustment!!!
Unfortunately, there are no more of them available at Nordstrom
anywhere in the country. :(
However, I did find a website that claimed to have completely
authentic designer handbags, which has the bag I want in stock. I
just would like to know whether anyone has had any experience with the
retailer. It seems legit, but I am wary because it's not a familiar
name to me.
I searched on MUA and tried to do a google groups search to see if it
had been discussed on alt.fashion before, but couldn't turn up any
helpful information. So if anyone could help me out here, I'd be very
grateful. The website is http://www.elementofstyle.com and I am in no
way affiliated with it – I just want to try to avoid getting scammed,
if their prices and selection are really too good to be true.
Alice
Jean <highs...@suscom–maine.netNOSPAM>
Alice wrote:
It doesn't seem like anyone had comments either good or bad about this
website, so because I wanted the bag so badly I decided to take a
gamble and place an order. I'll let you guys know how it works out.
I'm keeping my fingers crossed that they really do have authentic
past–season Marc Jacobs bags at discount prices...
Wholey moley....for those kind of prices from an unknown...hope you
didm't make a mistake! Let us know how it turns out!

the_queen_of_puddi...@yahoo.com
Jean wrote:
Alice wrote:
Wholey moley....for those kind of prices from an unknown...hope you
didm't make a mistake! Let us know how it turns out!
Jean <highs...@suscom–maine.netNOSPAM>
the_queen_of_puddi...@yahoo.com wrote:
Jean wrote:
Alice <freshmoroc...@gmailNOSPAM.com>
On Sun, 18 Dec 2005 11:08:25 –0500, Jean
<highs...@suscom–maine.netNOSPAM> wrote:
the_queen_of_puddi...@yahoo.com wrote:
sounds like they've had trouble before and had to address that issue.
Yeah, I did read that. It sounded like it was just a disclaimer they
needed to put there in order not to be sued. It seems pretty clear
that they are not an official distributor for LVMH or any of the other
companies involved. But other parts of the website have fairly
convincing language saying that their bags are the real thing and that
they absolutely do not sell any replicas or copies. There are many
places that sell "authentic leather" and other tricky language like
that but it's usually clear what they are selling if you know what to
look for.
Plus they have a full refund policy if anything is found not to be
authentic. (If you simply want to return the bag for other reasons,
there's a 15% restocking fee, which is bad, but if it is because the
bag is not "authentic" they will refund the full amount. Not sure
what would be necessary to prove that it's not authentic, but I figure
if I run into any real trouble I will probably be protected by my
credit card company. And possibly other measures if there's real
fraud involved. They are affiliated with yahoo shops after all)
I don't know, the real thing that worries me is how much of a
selection they have, especially in the Marc Jacob bags. It seems a
little fishy that they would claim to have so many styles available.
But they are styles from past seasons and aren't necessarily the most
popular ones.
I know what the real thing looks and feels like so I should be to tell
once it arrives. I just hope I haven't been a total fool. This is
what handbag obsession does to one. The bag is still available at
eLuxury.com but they won't give any price matches for Nordstrom. I
noticed that eLuxury has a number of designer bags that are from way
back and went on clearance ages ago at department stores, so who knows
when they'll finally mark down the one I want. Phooey.
Alice